Home Art & Culture The Tony Award nominations will be announced this morning. Here’s how to watch.

The Tony Award nominations will be announced this morning. Here’s how to watch.

by YAR

The nominations for this year’s Tony Awards, which honor work on Broadway as the industry tries to recover after the lengthy coronavirus shutdown, will be announced today at 9 a.m. ET.

Nominations will be announced by actors Adrienne Warren (she won a Tony Award for playing Tina Turner in “Tina”) and Joshua Henry (a three-time Tony nominee, most recently for “Carousel”).

We’ll have news and reactions throughout the day, and you can stream the announcement here.

The Tony Awards, formally known as the Antoinette Perry Awards, are honorary plays and musicals performed on Broadway. They are presented by the Broadway League and the American Theater Wing.

The nominations were determined by a committee of 29 people who watched all eligible shows and then voted on Friday by secret ballot. Nominators cannot have a financial interest in any of the eligible shows.

These are the first Tony Awards for which shows that opened after the start of the coronavirus pandemic will be considered; all but one of the eligible shows opened after theaters reopened following the prolonged pandemic shutdown. (The exception, “Girl From the North Country,” actually opened in 2020, but theaters closed so soon after that there weren’t enough Tony voters to see it for it to be considered during last year’s awards ceremony.)

This year there are 34 shows competing for awards in 26 categories; to be eligible, the shows had to have opened between February 20, 2020 and May 4, 2022. (Last year, there was a delayed Tony Awards ceremony honoring shows that opened during the season of abbreviated theater 2019-2020).

This year’s award ceremony will take place on June 12 at Radio City Music Hall; CBS will air a high-performance three-hour segment on television, preceded by a one-hour awards-focused segment on Paramount+. The ceremony will be hosted by Ariana DeBose, who earlier this year won an Academy Award for “West Side Story.”

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

The Float